Forum Replies Created

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • afischlin
    Participant
    Post count: 6

    Dear Tony,

    Thanks for the prompt and helpful reply.

    Thanks also for considering the automatic deletion of existing marks during restore as a suggestion for a new optional feature. Such an option appears to me to be quite helpful, since I always wish to overwrite during restore.

    Rationale: Note, I have many devices (Macs, iPads) and designate only the music studio iPad (stationary) and the main Mac as master devices where I am doing substantive edits. And even when transferring edits from one of those two to the other, I wish to overwrite only. My scenario is that I use the Mac, since the fastest device, for editing marks. The iPad, on the other hand, being the device I use for practice and doing edits on the fly, which often require refinement on the Mac to get the final marks. Moreover, any other device needs to be overwritten anyway when restoring. All in all I have basically no use for “preserving” existing marks and forgetting to delete all before restore only tends to create a considerable mess.

    I understand, however, that features need time to get implemented. Nevertheless, I would greatly appreciate this feature due to the frequent need to transfer settings between my main Mac and the studio iPad.

    Regards,
    Andreas

    afischlin
    Participant
    Post count: 6

    Dear Tony,

    This all works fine, with one exception. I have observed that deleting marks (position mark, loop) does not sync well. Let me explain with the following example:

    I have two devices, say A and B, both perfectly synced with same songs and identical song settings. Then on device A I edit the song settings including a deletion of a mark and export the song settings, say to a atcfg file. On device B I restore the song settings using the atcfg file. I have observed that the new edited song settings arrive well on device B except for the deletions. Any mark that was deleted continues to persist on device B.

    The only remedy I found so far to always perfectly sync from device A to B is to first delete all song settings on device B before restoring the settings as obtained from device A.

    My question: Is this really the recommended method of obtaining a perfect sync including mark deletions?

    (Or in other words: Is this merging of song settings intentional, and if yes, what should it be good for? Or is it a bug?)

    If yes, i.e. this is the recommended technique and all is intentionally as it currently is, how about adding a feature to Anytune (on Mac as well as iPad), e.g. as an option, to do the deleting automatically first before restoring?

    Thanks for Anytune and your help and cooperation.

    Regards,
    Andreas

    afischlin
    Participant
    Post count: 6

    Dear Sean,

    I fully understand. I am a programmer myself and have been looking into this a bit. To no avail. Amazing Slowdowner presets are binary files where intimate knowledge would be required to write a translator/converter, which I don’t have.

    Thus I started redoing mark setting with Anytune. Fortunately that works well. And that’s exactly where I need speed in editing, where the wanted shortcut would come handy.

    Now, back to practicing, indeed 😉

    Andreas flf

    afischlin
    Participant
    Post count: 6

    Dear Sean,

    Many thanks for all these considerations. I have now purchased Anytune also for the Mac and was easily able to sync between my iPad and the Mac. And yes, you are right, this ability to sync song settings between devices is very, very useful.

    However, it does unfortunately not help me with respect to transferring such mark settings from other software. Notably I have invested a lot in Amazing Slowdowner since many, many years. It was under Classic the only such software available and did a wonderful job for me since then. Yet, it lacks e.g. exactly this feature of syncing between iOS devices and the Mac. One reason I got interested in Anytune and I am now very pleased with Anytune. Thanks for this piece of software (please spread that word among all involved and responsible) and thanks for your particular considerate response.

    Cheers,
    Andreas flf

    afischlin
    Participant
    Post count: 6

    Thanks Sean. Very responsive and BTW, you won also a new customer with this. I appreciate this willingness to consider such suggestions very much. Note, I am using on the iPad Anytune since quite a while, but not yet on the Mac, where I am still only using the demo version (until now). This is because on the Mac I am since many, many years a faithful ‘Amazing Slowdowner’ and ‘Transcribe’ user. As such I have invested considerable time in marks and loops settings with those programs. Therefore I am a bit reluctant to switch to another program, since redoing all of this is very, very time consuming I would prefer to spend playing. Anyway, I am looking forward to the next version of Anytune for Mac.

    afischlin
    Participant
    Post count: 6

    I have to add some further information to clarify my point. I detected that I can easily navigate in the marks list with shortcuts such as Opt-Shift-CursorUp or -Down etc. That is fine. There is also the possibility to click on the mark, to actually select it, and then to hit key <Return> and I can also edit the mark. However, the problem is that navigating in the marks list does not select/activate the current mark. Normally it remains grey and I have first to click on it, exactly what I do not want, or to press key TAB (as I just learned) to accomplish actual selection.

    From this follows: Perhaps the entire problem I have could be resolved without a new menu command. All what would be needed is either the automatic full selection/activation of a mark when I navigate with key shortcuts in the marks list. Then Return does what I need. Alternatively, i.e. when the automatic full selection/activation of a mark should not happen when using navigating shortcuts (for more important reasons such as having the wave view active), an edit mode might be necessary, which allows to edit marks of a track more easily by automatically selecting/activating the mark to which the user has navigated.

    Any solution possible for this?

    P.S.: Of course the third possibility of having a new menu command might still be also a solution.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)